Honorary Membership Awards

The AATI Honorary Membership (Socio Onorario) award recognizes individuals who have achieved international stature in the area of Italian studies, but who are not members of the AATI. The awardee receives honorary membership status in the AATI on the nomination by the Executive Council, subject to such limitation as may be stated in the By-laws. The award carries the waiver of the annual membership fee and has no term limit.

The Association may award up to 2 (but may also decide not to award any) Honorary Memberships in a given year.

The Honorary Membership Award sub-committee will determine if there are suitable candidates in the given year, and will present recommendations (if there are any) to the Executive for approval.

As part of the recommendation, the Honorary Membership Award sub-committee must submit both a rationale explaining why the individual deserves the award and a current curriculum vitae. The nominee must NOT be made aware that he or she is being considered for the award, and that their curriculum vitae is being sought.

Self-nominations are not accepted.

The Recipients of the AATI Honorary Membership Awards:


2017 Joseph Sciorra
2016 Fred Gardaphé
2016 Luca Serianni
2015 Nicoletta Maraschio
2015 Katerin Katerinov
2011 Tullio De Mauro